The North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the complete name of the Board? 2. What is the Board's physical address; what is the Board's mailing address, and which should I use for courier service? 3. How can I obtain a license application? Can I pay by credit card? 4. What information comes with the application package? 5. Do I need a license prior to bidding on a project? 6. How many licenses can an examinee qualify? 7. How will I know which classification to choose? 8. Does the copy of the corporate charter or the certificate of authority have to be a certified copy? 9. Can I build my own house without a license? 10. How do I know when or if I am required to hold a license to practice general contracting? 11. Does the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors license subcontractors? 12. Can I take an exam without applying for a license? 13. Does the Board reciprocate with other states? 14. When is the filing deadline for the monthly Board list? 15. How do I increase my license limitation? 16. Can you send me a form so I can change my address? Can I give you my new address over the phone? Can I fax the address change to your office? 17. What do I need to do to transfer my license? 18. Do I have to sign the certification on the renewal application since I am the person who took the exam as well as the licensee? 19. When does my license expire? 20. How much are the renewal fees for each limitation? 21. Please explain "principal due in the next 12 months?" 22. The company has a license, but we want to add additional employees. How can we get other responsible managing employees of the company scheduled to take examinations? 23. Can I transfer my license to another entity? 24. When I reapply, do I have to submit the references again? 25. Is the application and financial information considered public information? 26. In lieu of an audit, can I submit a review or compilation? 27. Can a parent company's financial information be submitted for a subsidiary's application? 28. How does someone file charges against a general contractor? 29. Does North Carolina accept the NASCLA Accredited Building Exam?

1. What is the complete name of the Board? North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors  RETURN TO TOP

2.What is the Board's physical address; what is the Board's mailing address, and which should I use for courier service? 5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612 is the physical address and should be used for courier service; P. O. Box 17187, Raleigh, NC 27619 is the mailing address.  RETURN TO TOP

3.How can I obtain a license application? Can I pay by credit card? Application packages may be obtained by sending a personal check, money order or cashier's check for $15 made payable to the NC Licensing Board for General Contractors, P. O. Box 17187, Raleigh, NC 27619. Please note that cash and credit cards are not accepted. Applications may be purchased at the Board office for $13. The office is located at 5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612; office hours are from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Please note that cash and credit cards are not accepted. Applications may also be downloaded from this website header under Forms.  RETURN TO TOP

4. What information comes with the application package? An application form and instructions, information for all exams, state requirements and a copy of the Laws and Regulations Applicable to General Contracting in the State of North Carolina are included.  RETURN TO TOP

5. Do I need a license prior to bidding on a project? If the project costs $30,000 or more, you will need a license before submitting a bid (GS 87-1).  RETURN TO TOP

6. How many licenses can an examinee qualify? A person may serve as a qualifier for no more than 2 licenses. [NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12, .0205(b)].  RETURN TO TOP

7. How will I know which classification to choose? Refer to NCAC Article 1, Section .0200 and .0202 for the licensing requirements including classifications and descriptions for each.  RETURN TO TOP

8. Does the copy of the corporate charter or the certificate of authority have to be a certified copy? No.  RETURN TO TOP

9. Can I build my own house without a license? If the land is in your name and the home is solely to be occupied by you and your family for 12 months after completion, you may build your own home without a license. Refer to GS 87-1.  RETURN TO TOP

10. How do I know when or if I am required to hold a license to practice general contracting? North Carolina General Statute 87-1 defines the practice of general contracting; refer to NCGS 87-1 to determine whether these requirements apply in your case.  RETURN TO TOP

11. Does the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors license subcontractors? No, generally speaking, subcontractors work under the supervision of a prime or general contractor.  RETURN TO TOP

12. Can I take an exam without applying for a license? No.  RETURN TO TOP

13. Does the Board reciprocate with other states? The Board has an examination waiver agreement with South Carolina and Tennessee.  RETURN TO TOP

14. When is the filing deadline for the monthly Board list? Each month members of the Licensing Board review and approve a list of all applicants (not required to take and pass an examination) who have fulfilled the requirements for a North Carolina general contractors license. All general contractors licenses expire December 31 each calendar year and normally are not issued during the month of December. To be eligible for consideration, applications must be filed in a timely manner and in complete order. Applications should be submitted the first week of any month prior to the month members of the Licensing Board review and approve(for example--first week of June for July review/approval). After review and approval by members of the Licensing Board, a license to practice general contracting will be issued on the applicable date for the applicant. The postmark shown on applications, materials and mail received by this office is not the actual and official filing date for the application.  RETURN TO TOP

15. How do I increase my license limitation? Contact the Board office and request an 'increase application' form. (Your license must be active and renewed.) Complete the increase form and send the form, including an audited financial statement with an unqualified opinion, a classified balance sheet and accompanying notes to the financial statement, with appropriate fee to the Licensing Board. The audit must be prepared by a certified public accountant or an independent accountant who is engaged in the public practice of accountancy. (See NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12.0204 [a-f] for eligibility requirements.)  RETURN TO TOP

16. Can you send me a form so I can change my address? Can I give you my new address over the phone? Can I fax the address change to your office? Change of address information must be provided to the Board in writing within 30 days from the date of the change [NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12.0505]. We do not have a specific form to be used for an address change, and they are not accepted over the phone. All address changes must be on company letterhead and signed by the president or owner. Be sure to list the license number and the exact name of the licensee. You may fax an address change to 919 571-4703.  RETURN TO TOP

17. What do I need to do to transfer my license? Licenses are not transferable. "...Any person or firm or corporation..." engaging in the practice of general contracting must hold a general contractor's license. The holder of an individual license may not allow a partnership or corporation to use that individual license for any reason (GS 87-1).  RETURN TO TOP

18. Do I have to sign the certification on the renewal application since I am the person who took the exam as well as the licensee? The signature of each examinee is required; the renewal will be returned if a signature is missing.  RETURN TO TOP

19. When does my license expire? All licenses issued by this Board expire on December 31 of each year.  RETURN TO TOP

20. How much are the renewal fees for each limitation? The Limited license is $75; an Intermediate license is $100; an Unlimited license is $125.  RETURN TO TOP

21. Please explain "principal due in the next 12 months"? Principal due in the next 12 months is the amount of payment (less interest or other costs such as insurance) that you will pay within the next 12 months. For example, if you owe on your vehicles or real estate for the next 10 years, the principal that will be paid in the next 12 months is a current liability. The remaining 9 years will be considered a long term liability.  RETURN TO TOP

22. The company has a license, but we want to add additional employees. How can we get other responsible managing employees of the company scheduled to take examinations? Call the Board's office (919 571-4183) and request an exam form.  RETURN TO TOP

23. Can I transfer my license to another entity? No, only exams can be transferred.  RETURN TO TOP

24. When I reapply, do I have to submit the references again? Yes.  RETURN TO TOP

25. Is the application and financial information considered public information? Yes, everything submitted with the application may be considered a public record according to General Statutes, Chapter 132-1 and following, and may be subject to disclosure to the public upon request. Social Security numbers and trade secrets are not disclosed to the public.  RETURN TO TOP

26. In lieu of an audit, can I submit a review or compilation? If applying for an Intermediate or Unlimited Limitation, an audited financial statement with an unqualified opinion, a classified balance sheet and accompanying notes to the financial statement must be submitted. The audit must be prepared by a certified public accountant or an independent accountant who is engaged in the public practice of accountancy. (See NCAC Title 21; Chapter 12.0204 [a-f] for eligibility requirements.)  RETURN TO TOP

27. Can a parent company's financial information be submitted for a subsidiary's application? No, the financial information or financial statements must be solely on the entity applying for a license.  RETURN TO TOP

28. How does someone file charges against a general contractor? Any person may prefer charges or file a complaint against a general contractor. Complaints must be properly completed on forms (sample for licensed contractor, sample for unlicensed contractor) provided by the Board, signed and returned to the Board office. All complaints received by the Board office are reviewed and assigned to a field investigator for an investigation.  RETURN TO TOP

Once a complaint is received, written notice of the complaint and the charges are then forwarded to the licensee or general contractor for a response. Following a preliminary review of the complaint the investigator may gather additional evidence by making an inspection of the construction project or the work in question. Field investigators also may interview the Respondent contractor, fact witnesses or other individuals who are familiar with the case. When an investigation is completed the case is forwarded to the Board's Review Committee, which then determines whether probable cause exists to recommend that the case be presented to the full Board for a disciplinary hearing. The Board may impose discipline by revoking or suspending the license of the general contractor based on a finding of gross negligence, incompetence, misconduct, or willful violations of the licensing laws. If the general contractor (Respondent) is not licensed to practice general contracting, the Board may only seek entry of a permanent injunction against the contractor in Superior Court. The Board's disciplinary statutes, which describe these procedures, are found at North Carolina General Statutes 87-11(a), 87-13 and 87-13.1.  RETURN TO TOP

29. Does North Carolina accept the NASCLA Accredited Building Exam? Yes, however an application must be completed in its entirety and submitted with the NASCLA result letter and proof that a transcript was ordered for North Carolina.  RETURN TO TOP

For questions concerning complaints or to request a complaint form, please call the Board’s Violations & Complaints Section at (919) 571-4189.